Home banner
A-Z Index

Quick way to the find the information that you need...

More button
Register with FRAME

Although you do not need to register, any information you provide will be confidential and used only by FRAME to improve the website

Register button
Account Login
Forgot password?

The Journal


Alternatives to Laboratory Animals - ATLA

Download latest issue button Download back issues button Subscribe to ATLA
Contact Us

Tel icon

Tel: +44 (0)115 9584740

Tel icon

Fax: +44 (0)115 9503570

Make an Enquiry

Michael Balls receives special recognition award

PanelThe award was presented after he gave a speech on the final day of the three day conference as part of a session to mark the 50th anniversary of the publication of The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique, by WMS Russell and RL Burch, the landmark treatise that first set out the Three Rs strategy.


PresentationHe was presented with the award by Congress co-chairs Thomas Hartung and Herman Koeter. During the presentation the recipients were described as dynamic, creative, ambitious, passionate, determined, persistent, tenacious and sometimes stubborn. But all three were praised for their contributions to science and the Three Rs. The others who were also named Patrons were Alan Goldberg (CAAT) and Horst Spielmann (BfR, Germany). 


Professor Balls became a Trustee of FRAME in 1979, and has been Chairman of the Trustees since 1981. He is a founder member of ERGATT (European Research Group for Alternatives in Toxicology Testing).


He acted as an adviser to the British Government during the drafting and passage through Parliament of the Animals (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986, and, from 1987-1995, was a founder member of the Animal Procedures Committee, which advises the Home Secretary on all matters related to animal experimentation. 


In 1993 he became the first Head of the European Centre for the Validation of Alternative Methods (ECVAM), which is now part of the Institute for Health & Consumer Protection of the European Commission's Joint Research Centre.


The nomination as Patron is the latest in a host of awards that Michael Balls has received during his career. In 1986 he was given the first Marchig Animal Welfare Award of the World Society for the Protection of Animals, for his contributions toward acceptance of the Three Rs (reduction, refinement, replacement) concept of alternatives to animal experimentation. 


In 1994, he was presented with the fourth Russell & Burch Award of The Humane Society of the United States, for his contributions to the advancement of alternative methods. In 1997, he won the fourth SmithKline Beecham Laboratory Animal Welfare Prize for outstanding contributions to the welfare of laboratory animals. In 1998, he was awarded the first Prize of the Fondation E. Naef pour la Recherche in Vitro (jointly with Horst Spielmann), and in 1999, the Michael Kay Award of the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, in recognition of services to European animal welfare.


7 September 2009