Home banner
A-Z Index

Quick way to the find the information that you need...

More button
Register with FRAME

Although you do not need to register, any information you provide will be confidential and used only by FRAME to improve the website

Register button
Account Login
Forgot password?

The Journal


Alternatives to Laboratory Animals - ATLA

Download latest issue button Download back issues button Subscribe to ATLA
Contact Us

Tel icon

Tel: +44 (0)115 9584740

Tel icon

Fax: +44 (0)115 9503570

Make an Enquiry

Russell and Burch Award - nominations sought

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) is looking for nominations for its Russell and Burch Award.




HSUS_logoThe $5,000 prize is awarded annually to scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of alternative methods in the areas of biomedical research, testing, or higher education.


Alternative methods—also known as the Three Rs—are methods that can replace or reduce the use of animals in specific procedures, or refine procedures so that animals experience less pain or suffering.  


The award is named in honour of William Russell and Rex Burch, the scientists who formulated the Three Rs approach of replacement, reduction, and refinement and is a means of recognising the important role that scientists play in limiting the use and suffering of animals in laboratories.  


Candidates for the award are judged on the scientific merit of their contribution to the alternatives field, as well as their impact and professional commitment to this field.


Applicants should have a history of laboratory work that is above reproach on humane grounds.  Send nominations by April 10, 2009 to ari@hsus.org. No special forms are necessary. Persons nominating themselves should submit a cover letter explaining their suitability for the award (see preceding paragraph), a curriculum vita, and representative published articles (preferably in PDF format).


Persons nominating others should submit a letter explaining the nominee’s suitability for the award, and arrange to have supporting documents forwarded.  


Past winners include: Rodger Curren, Ph.D., Institute for In Vitro Sciences, Bert van Zutphen, Ph.D., University of Utrecht, David Morton, M.R.C.V.S., Ph.D., University of Birmingham, Katherine Stitzel, D.V.M., Procter & Gamble, Neil Wilcox, D.V.M., M.P.H., U.S. Food and Drug Administration,  William Stokes, D.V.M., National Institute of Environmental Health Science, Horst Spielmann, M.D., German National Center for the Documentation and Evaluation of Alternatives to Animal Testing and Andrew Rowan, D. Phil., Tufts University.    


The award will be presented at the World Congresses on Alternatives and Animal Use in the Life Sciences. August 30-September 3, 2009 in Rome.


6 March 2009